It is in force in 27 places. It was submitted to the people four times in Fredericton, N.B., and carried on each occasion. Westmoreland voted on it five times and carried it each time. Charlottetown voted on it six times, carried it three times, rejected it the fourth, adopted it the fifth and rejected it on the sixth occasion. Lambton voted on it four times, carrying it the first time, defeating it the second, carrying it the third and defeating it the fourth. Halton carried it on the first and second voting, but rejected it on the third. Stanstead sandwiched a carry between two rejections, St. John City defeated it on the two occasions it has had the opportunity to vote on the Act.

The Act has been submitted to public opinion in nine cities and 73 counties. It is in force in one city and 26 counties.

The following is a summary :---

Carried	five tim	es and s	till in	force						x i								1
11	four		11				• •			• •				1111		• • •		1
31	twice		9															4
.0	once		11									• •				•		21
		present																
Defeate	ed the fir	st time	and no	ot sub	mitt	ed	ag	ain	1.	• •••	•	• • •		• •	• • •			17
Carried	the first	election	a, but	derea	ted t	the	se	coi	nd	••		• • •	• • •	•	• •	• •		30
Carried	twice a	nd lost t	wice.			•	• • •	• •	•••		••	••		••	• • •	• •	• •	1
Carried	once an	a lost t	wice		• • •	• • •	•••	•••	•••	••	••	•••	• • •		• • •	••	• • •	Ļ
Carried	twice a	nd lost o	nce		• • • •	• • •	• • •		•••	•	••	• •	• • •	•••	•••	•••		+
Lost tw	vice and	not carr	ied at	an	• • •		• •	• • •	• ; •	11	:.		• •		•••	. •	: :	T
Carried	three ti	mes, rej	ecteα	the I	ourt	n,	car	rie	a	th	e i	IIT	1 8	nd	re	jec	ted	-
the	sixth		• • • • • •			• •	• • -	• • •	• • •	••	••	• •	•••	• •		•••	•••	T
																	-	55

The following statement gives the places in which the Canada Temperance Act was in force on April 1, 1903 :---

Nova Scotia.	New Brunswick.	Prince Edward Island.	Manitoba.
Annapolis. Cape Breton. Cumberland, Digby, Guysborough, Hants. Inverness. King's. Pictou. Queen's. Shelburne. Yarmouth.	Albert. Carleton. Charlotte. Fredericton. Xing's. Northumberland. Queen's. Sunbury. Westmoreland. York.	King's. Queen's. Prince.	Lisgar. Marquette.

In the provinces of Ontario, Quebec and British Columbia the Act is nowhere in force.